ankle at 17 weeks: back on the bike?!

The latest word from my private physiotherapist is that I might seriously consider getting back on my bike again. Apparently this is a great way to stretch and rebuild the muscles I haven’t been using. I’m intrigued, since most importantly, being on the bike will help me be less stir-crazy. Unfortunately, being on a moving bike has all kinds of liability issues associated with it. If they won’t let me drive because in principle I might have trouble working the clutch in an emergency and it could result in another accident, I don’t see how riding my bike is really any different. This may be something to clear up with the Fracture Clinic people when I see them again next Friday. So perhaps stationary bike is the way to go.

Also, I’m to use those crutches as little as I possibly can get away with, with the goal of not being on them at all by this time next week.

We did some other new exercises, which I found challenging at various levels: walking backwards, balancing on my injured foot only (with my eyes closed), flexing my ankles to stand on tiptoes, and so forth. Based on how I split my weight now, I estimate my injured ankle can flex to support about 75% of my body weight at this point, but I’m not yet capable of standing on my tiptoes on my right foot only. That will probably be the condition under which I get to drive my car again. Not sure how long it will take to get there, but I’m seeing measurable improvement every day now instead of just every week, so I remain cautiously optimistic.

About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ankle at 17 weeks: back on the bike?!

Leave a Reply

