roasted red pepper soup.

I made soup the other day. I just finished the last of it this afternoon. It looks like this.

970107_10152033205204045_1499911597_n

This is how I made it:

  • 4 red peppers (Capsicum annuum)
  • 1 medium-sized onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 (14-oz) can cannellini beans
  • 1 small zucchini
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 3 c veggie stock
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper (Piper nigrum) to taste

(As you can see, this is really just going to be a general roast vegetable soup with emphasis on peppers. I didn’t really know what I was doing here but decided to see what would result.)

Preheat oven to 170 C. Chop the Capsicum into little strips and chuck ’em onto a cookie sheet which has been pre-oiled with olive oil. Coat each bit in the oil so it doesn’t burn or lose too many juices. Drizzle some more oil on there, what the hell, can’t hurt. Bake for 30-45 minutes until they’re all shrivelled and soft and yummy.

While that’s going on, mince the garlic and chop the onions, and sautee them in olive oil till translucent. Add the cumin and paprika and roast them around in the oil. Chop zucchini and celery and add them to the mix, keeping the sautee going for another 5 minutes or so. Throw the stock and beans in there and simmer gently for about 20 minutes or until your peppers come out.

When the peppers come out, throw them in the pot and simmer another 5 minutes or so. Then puree it all. I used a hand blender because hand blenders are awesome and don’t require me to get this huge pitcher thing dirty which I then also need to disassemble to clean, etc. It keeps the threshold low for me.

Eat. With toast if you like. I like toast.

Variations:

  • Emily says this would do well with tomatoes also. If you can roast the tomatoes, so much the better.
  • Feta cheese goes well on top. So do chopped/crushed cashews, for that nutty twist.
  • If what you really want is pumpkin soup, substitute pumpkin for Capsicum and chickpeas for the cannellini. I bet chickpeas would go okay with the Capsicum version too.
About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Food, Lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to roasted red pepper soup.

  1. Moogy says:

    Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

