long distance

Been quiet lately. Usually when I get home, the routine is to decompress with Emily, cooking dinner together and then unwinding with board games (Dominion or Ascension), TV (Doctor Who and Game of Thrones are recent favorites) or stories read aloud (currently reading Terry Pratchett’s Thud!) before ultimately crashing. Occasionally on weekends I get some “boy time” planned in between Adventures, and although I don’t usually have trouble getting as much of this as I like, it usually goes towards work.

For the next few months, however, I’m going to get a lot more “boy time” than previously. Emily’s job had been driving her nuts, so she went searching for a better job that would leave her happier and more fulfilled, and, one can hope, higher up the food chain where her extraordinary efforts would be better rewarded. She found one — in Melbourne.

I have no intention of moving to Melbourne just yet, since I’m doing well in my own job at ANU and finally starting to really get traction on my own research program. I recently submitted the kickoff paper in an upcoming series to the prestigious journal Science, and while I won’t get too much into it right now, I can happily report that the editors liked it enough to bother to send it to the referees, so its chances of being accepted are much higher than they seemed at first. I’m about halfway through my original appointment, and while I am thinking about what to do when I apply for my next job, I’m not yet there.

So there’s going to be a period where Emily and I are living in different towns. She assures me that there is an upper bound on how long her stay at this job is likely to last, as it’s a fairly short-term thing; she should be back in Canberra sometime early next year. There will of course be a lot of back and forth between cities for both of us, every other weekend or so, as well as continuation of nightly readings and similar. We’ve got other creative ideas for how to stay in touch as well.

For anyone worried that this may be a problem with my ankle still being broken, I’ll reassure you that I’m in good hands. The fridge is currently stocked with ridiculous amounts of food, some left over from cooking Em and I have done, some donated generously by Em’s folks. My left arm has healed nicely, so I can now crutch around on two regular crutches instead of fussing around with a gutter crutch. While the ankle has got another month to go before I’m allowed to put weight on it, the surgical wounds have healed, I’ve got a lot more range of motion back, and overall it is feeling much less fragile — so I can, for example, put my heel down on the floor while sitting without making things too sore. I’ve still got plenty of offers from friends to help me run errands, get to and from work, and generally make sure I’m not abandoned.

About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

