kia ora koutou!

I’ve been absorbed in Getting Shit Done lately, so I haven’t had much to say; those who are interested in the shit I’m getting done should look at RSNearch, though those posts may or may not be accessible depending on your background. If you want to know about specific things, comment here and I’ll go into more detail in a few posts.

Emily and I are at Sydney Airport waiting for our flight to Auckland. A few weeks ago, she asked, hey, d’ya want to go to New Zealand? much as she did before in what turned out to be my most wildly popular WordPress post ever. I said sure this time, although she kindly gave me a longer run-up to the date.

We’ll be visiting Em’s mother’s family in and around Auckland, with a day’s jaunt south to Rotorua for a crazy eco-adventure involving ziplines in the rainforest canopy. I expect these to result in some fantastic pictures, a sample of which I will post here. I will also be more than a little anxious about the heights, with grumbling throughout the day, after which (when I’m safely on the ground) I will agree that it was awesome. At least there are six progressively higher zipwires, so I’ll have a little time to get acclimated and do the easy ones first. There might also be a romantic cabin getaway with a waterfall somewhere in there. It should be lovely.

Back to work… I guess I’m supposed to be on holiday, but I need to take all the time I can to push these papers out while we’re in transit not yet technically having New Zealand adventures. Brian and I have agreed to an especially ambitious publication schedule for me this year, which (fortunately) I think I can meet. More on that later.

About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Career, Lifestyle, Nature, New Zealand, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

