Changi Airport, Singapore

Okay, I get it, you guys like any post which is marked “Travel”. I hate to admit it but I’m not a travel writer, or at least I don’t consider myself one. I just calls it like I sees it. Sorry, but I’m gonna keep writing about science too. :)

I spent much of the rest of the flight thinking about a proposal for Gemini-South time to study peculiar SNe Ia (found by SkyMapper and others). I’m digging up some old thoughts I had about the interactions of SNe Ia with their environments. There’s a lot to remember.

Singapore Airport isn’t quite as space-agey as I was expecting. It’s not bustling, or brushed metal, or staffed by robots. It’s actually pretty sleepy on a Friday night. In fact everything around here seems to promote a restful atmosphere: overstuffed chairs placed not in rows, but in clusters around small tables; massage chairs; an indoor playground for the kiddies, complete with yellow tube slide (that thing rules); a “Snooze Lounge” on the top floor, with rows of total strangers napping on cots. The whole place is airy and open, with plenty of glass and greenery. There’s a Butterfly Garden on an outdoor terrace, which isn’t much to see right now because we landed in the driving rain. There is also a Starbucks, and free wireless.

I had some decent Indian fast food for dinner, and now I’m falling asleep. I was up around 6:45 AM in Canberra, and as I type it’s 11:20 PM in that time zone. I’m recharging my laptop, which went through a period of interrupted power service on the plane, and transferring some photos over.

Not much to report, really. I expect to pass out on the plane and wake up in Munich.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

