Maipenrai Vintage Day 2012

This Sunday I went picking grapes in Brian’s vineyard.  No, seriously.  Don’t look at Sunday’s day of the month.  You say “pics or it didn’t happen”?  It totally happened.  I went last year too (on April 17), with Em and Kathryn, but for some reason didn’t cover it. This year, since Kathryn is still living in London, it was just me and Em from our household.

It started out as an entirely lovely sunny day to be outside on a farm, and come to think of it I’m probably going to have to mention this little episode on my customs form when we take our trip to the US in July.  It clouded over and started to rain just as we finished.  Brian gave out free bottles of Maipenrai 2008 last year, but due to what I can only assume is increased demand for wine made by the sweat of nerds this year, he didn’t have enough left to pass around this year — except the 2003 Amungula Creek, which, the ongoing joke goes, is the wine you give to the colloquium speaker when you hated their talk.  It might be good for cooking, or for boiling down into brandy; since it’s a red wine, it’s unfortunately no good for cleaning.  All that aside, 2008 was an excellent year, with 2009 not far behind, and I’m sitting on the bottle I got last year for a special occasion.  (Not that I’ve given much thought to the “Oenophile’s Quandary”, though some mathematicians and at least one webcomic artist have done so.)

And now, without further ado, some pretty pictures, rather than 11,000 more words.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Food, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

