doing the visa dance!

My visa came through today!  I was seriously starting to get worried about it…  not so much for any concrete reason (the DIAC told me to expect it to take two months and it’s been only five weeks) as that it’s hard to sit tight when there’s no visible progress bar. At one point I had emailed them with additional information about my flight and where I’d be when (about to start traveling randomly around the US), and asked if they needed anything else from me — and got a brusque email equivalent to “don’t call us, we’ll call you”. On the other hand, Human Resources at ANU (my new employer) had told me that visas were coming through quickly and I’d likely have little to worry about, but that I should keep them posted.

This enabled me to have a beer tonight at the astronomy department Happy Hour without further concern about getting on a plane only to have to camp out in the Sydney airport like Tom Hanks in The Terminal. (sub-optimal!)

Tomorrow (or today, really) is my last day at the office.  It’s also the day the Astro2010 Decadal Survey results come out, so there will no doubt be a huge group of people gathered to watch the live webcast of the corresponding Town Hall Meeting.  That will no doubt require some reporting.

Obligatory food story tonight:  parfaits with chocolate ganache, fresh strawberries and Milano cookies (Pepperidge Farm), topped with whipped cream.  Plus Nutella hot chocolate.  That and some bourbon on the rocks formed the sugary nightcap to a high-glycemic day, which was, naturally, totally worthwhile.  Props to my friends Andrea, Lissa and Lizzie for helping make my evening entirely memorable and fun!

About Richard

I'm an American scientist who is building a new life in Australia. This space will contain words about science and math, but also philosophy, policy, literature, my travels, occasional rants, all sorts of things I find strange and awesome. The views expressed in this blog do not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employer at the time (currently University of Sydney), though personally, I think they should.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

